Joseph W. “Chip” Marshall, III, Appointed a Fellow of The College of Physicians of Philadelphia

PHILADELPHIA, PA, November 22, 2010 – Joseph W. “Chip” Marshall, III, Vice Chairman of Stevens & Lee and its affiliated investment bank, Griffin Financial Group, has been elected as a Fellow into The College of Physicians of Philadelphia, the oldest professional medical society in the United States.

Mr. Marshall joins a select group of attorneys elected to a Fellowship comprised mostly of physicians. The College, which was founded in 1787, is a not-for-profit educational and cultural institution dedicated to advancing the cause of health while upholding the ideals and heritage of medicine.

Mr. Marshall is a prominent and highly regarded figure in the health care and higher education industries and the Greater Philadelphia business community. He is the former long-time Chairman and CEO of Temple University Health System, one of the largest health care organizations in Pennsylvania. He is also a former Director of Health Partners, a provider-owned Medicaid/Medicare Health Maintenance Organization operating in Greater Philadelphia.

Mr. Marshall has held significant government-appointed positions, including having served on the Medicaid Commission created by Congress and established by The Honorable Michael O. Leavitt, Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. As part of his service, he advised the Secretary on ways to modernize the Medicaid program to provide high-quality health care to its beneficiaries in a financially sustainable way. He served as Vice Chairman and Chairman of the Pennsylvania State Ethics Commission and as one of the original members of the Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board. A former Board member of the Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce, he presently serves on the Chamber’s CEO Council for Growth.

He has been a member of the Temple University Board of Trustees for nearly 20 years and also serves as a Trustee of Salus University.

Mr. Marshall received a B.A. from Temple University in 1975, a J.D. from Temple University School of Law in 1979 and an honorary D.H.L. from Holy Family University in 2005.